At times in this play of life, I know you see me. You know I can blend in the crowd.  I am one of many characters.  This is my story.

I am one of those people who was created to fulfill a brief role for the main characters in this play of life. I appear briefly, but I have a story to tell. I am a character who has no name or claim to fame.  I am not supposed to matter.  I appear and do things, but the audience seldom wants to get to know me. I am part of the action, but I am not the focus. I don’t have a continual role.  I am the credible person the audience can relate to.  I add support and value to the main characters making them more complete and interesting. I contribute without taking.  I make the play move along.

I live in an indifferent world where being unnoticed and unheard is common. I will never be significant. If I become a distraction to the main characters, I become expendable and I am cut out completely. You can’t have people wondering why so much focus was spent on me than the main characters. The play would have to be revised to explain why so much time was spent on making me matter more than the main characters. You would expect me to fade back in the foreground and be part of the background.

I am invisible.

Leave a Reply

